This feature is in Public Preview.
Applies to: Databricks SQL Databricks Runtime 13.2 and above Unity Catalog only
Deletes the specified volume.
When you delete a managed volume, the files stored in this volume are also deleted from your cloud tenant within 30 days.
If an external volume is dropped, the metadata about the volume is removed from the catalog, but the underlying files are not deleted.
To drop a volume you must be its owner, or the owner of the schema, catalog, or metastore the volume resides in.
If specified, no error is thrown when the volume does not exist.
The name of the volume to be dropped. If the volume cannot be found Databricks raises an error.
– Drop a volume named 'my_volume' > DROP VOLUME my_volume OK – Drop a volume named `my_volume` under catalog `my_catalog` and schema `my_schema > DROP VOLUME my_catalog.my_schema.my_volume OK – The volume must exist > DROP VOLUME my_volume Error – Drop a volume named `my_volume` only if it exists > DROP VOLUME IF EXISTS my_volume OK